Week one: Everything is fine

On day one I threw some Porcelain pots on my new wheel and was very excited about this.  On Tuesday we went on a trip to Craft in the Bay to discuss different ways in which ideas can be explored through drawing and making, the synthesis between these acts, and to analyse how we, as ceramists and individuals, go about our own creative process.

One of the artists whose work was at CiTB was Alice Kettle: spanning a gap between narrative and material, her work in illustrative embroidery harnessed the movement used to make the piece (by sewing machine) in a static image.

I also greatly appreciated Christie Brown’s work: the sculptural and illustrative combination was really exciting.

craftinthebay

Richard Heeley’s illustrated bowls also made my heart skip a little because I’d seen and loved his work before!

craftinthebay

We spoke about our new subject brief on Thursday and I turned the pots I had made on Monday. Then we had Into the Fold on Friday.

just thrown fresh off the wheel

Leave a comment