Week five: in which many things occur

On Monday I discussed with Duncan in the tutorial the Ken Stradling object around which to form an analytical reflection: the adjustable shelving unit.
I’m interested in the meta-discussion which arises from the way the shelving unit is able to cater to outside objects by being non-specific in its own nature.  In the object’s non-finality, its unfixed nature, it can frame other work in a tailored way in which usual shelving cannot. It allows for a kind of mental isolation from the rest of the collection: for a person to look at the curation of a collection of items within a space, within a larger space, within a collection.

A group of bowl designs I drew:

Bowls designs

Thus, my interest in how one displays a collection of a series (such as my own natural group of Porcelain bowls) of items within a small, perhaps even domestic space, is projected into this context.

I developed a deep interest in how a still object can remain full of movement – such as Melissa Mancini‘s bowl with paper-like quality. I’m going to carry this idea forward in my work.

On Tuesday there was more life drawing. Then Wednesday was spent all day making a mask face to do with ourselves. I loved every minute of it. It was very mellow and exploratory.

Head design

head in progress

November content

After we made the heads, I did some drawings loosely based around the head which Marek had sculpted.

Head studies after Marek's head

Later on in the week there was Made by Hand, where I assisted at the Showdown. I helped people throw pots on the wheel for the first time, and also took part in one of the Challenges.

Published by

wheels1nmotion

Illustrator and Ceramist, proficient sewing machine addict who loves his cat.

Leave a Reply

