Week 8: in which our brave protagonist faces his fears and enters the glaze room

I mixed up two glazes on Monday for use on small porcelain houses I made to use as glaze tests.  

November content

This was after painful group work setting up an exhibition thing for field. I single-handedly brought downstairs all of the group-agreed items for display (Lizzie is not at fault here, she contributed well on the previous group work occasion and couldn’t make it to the set-up with good reason) and set them up in the space. Then the two others who had no excuse for their tardiness showed up and shuffled things around a bit. It was like pulling teeth.

November content

November content

On Thursday there was the drawing symposium for which we made the legs and temporary exhibition. I got to meet Christie Brown and say how much I admired her work, and saw mr Heeley throw and turn pots; I made some notes on throwing with porcelain- I really needed the reminder(!!); Michael Flynn remembered me from the summer exhibition, which was nice! I showed him my life drawing work. 

I made two reactions on terracotta clay with slip to the talks given by a) Christie Brown 

November content

and b) Mr Heeley.

November content

Published by

wheels1nmotion

Illustrator and Ceramist, proficient sewing machine addict who loves his cat.

Leave a Reply

